top of page


There are 25 members of the Hawaiʻi State Senate. Senators are elected to serve staggered four-year terms and are not subject to term limits. 

The presiding officer of the Senate is the Senate President. Other officers of the Senate include the Vice President, Majority Leader, Majority Caucus Leader, Majority Floor Leader/Whip, Majority Whip, and Assistant Majority Whip.

The officers of the Senate are elected by a majority vote of the Senate members.

The Hawaiʻi Senate Majority consists of 23 Democrats for the 32nd Legislature, which convened on January 17th, 2024.

bottom of page